Full-screen modern apps are a thing of the past. In Windows 10, your Windows apps will float on the desktop as normal resizable windows.

The schizophrenic IE behavior is now gone. You no longer need to worry about which version of IE will open, and IE is being replaced by a new browser codenamed: Project Spartan.

The Charms bar is gone in Windows 10 and is replaced by a much more useful notification center that you can pull up when you want it. Unlike the charms that would fly out automatically.

The Start screen is also a thing of the past, and the Start menu has returned. It’s a redesigned Start menu, that displays Windows apps, too.

The Start menu returns in Windows 10. It has been overhauled to provide familiar functionality and a modern look that can be toggled full screen, too.

The annoying corner based navigation has been ditched. You no longer need to worry about the recent apps or charms bar popping up when the mouse pointer is at the corner of the screen.

While a lot of these features do make sense on a touchscreen device, it’s a different story when you’re using a traditional PC or laptop. These are the major features that won’t be missed by most Windows 8 users, and if you’re coming from Windows 7, you’ll be able to pick up Windows 10 quickly. The biggest complaint of virtually all Windows users have about Windows 8 is the lack of a Start menu. Sure, you could install a third-party utility like Start8 or Classic Shell to get the Start menu back, but now that isn’t an issue. There is a way to get rid of most of the Windows 8 “features” listed above, and Microsoft did improve the UI for desktop users a bit over the course of three updates. If you’re running Windows 8.x on a traditional computer now, using the desktop most of the time, check out our article: Make the Windows 8.1 Modern UI Less Annoying. What are your thoughts on Windows 10 so far? Are you looking forward to making the upgrade? Leave a comment below and let us know your opinion. From everything I have read, so far, it looks as if Windows 10 is going to be much better than 8.1 and I intend to upgrade both machines to Windows 10 as soon as it is available. Sure using ‘metro’ touch screen might not make much sense in the traditional desktop keyb & mouse world but it was easy to get it to boot up straight to desktop. So with the two non-issues for me, I found it like win7 but faster. However, I use it on a traditional desktop with keyboard and mouse. And while the touch features make sense on a tablet or PC with touch capability, they make no sense on the desktop. To get rid of all of the annoyances, there are several settings to change, and third-party apps like ModernMix to get a better experience. I agree with the Start menu, I haven’t missed it. But since I’ve been testing Windows 10 tech preview, I have to say, the desktop experience is extremely better than 8. One thing I’m looking forward to is the transparent OS connection with Xbox One. It’s just a shame the Xbox Kinect got the same undeserved hate bandwagon as Win8. I keep hearing Win 8 is inefficient, confusing, and hard to use over and over again. This, sadly, from windows experts when, while it looks different, for the most part it works exactly like windows 7. I don’t mean install your start menu replacement of choice and make it work like windows 7, I mean out of the box, no modification you can use it exactly like windows 7. I can’t count how many “normal” people that windows experts either speak to or claim to speak for on it with them saying they don’t want it or don’t like it. Most often it is not because they tried and failed to understand, it is because their favorite expert panned windows 8 proclaiming it hard to use or that it is for tablets, or that they don’t like it. I take 10 minutes to correlate how win 8 works with win 7, even back to win XP and they understand it, they think it is cool, they LIKE it… Usually the only holdouts are people who consider themselves experts and have already decided they are not going to like it no matter what I say.. Now that I’ve got it set up on my main tower and have really been putting it through the paces I find it really hard to go back to 7. Windows 8 runs much better and the fastboot UEFI install alone makes the change worth it. I can boot to my desktop in less than six seconds now, which makes it much more likely that I’ll turn off the computer overnight, saving me some money along the way. I actually like and prefer the 1st version of 8, lets call it 8.0.1 and thats on the “old school” laptop, which seems so “outdated” anymore…. It took about a week, after teeth gnashing and then I enjoyed it, without touchscreen but with touchscreen controls…Oh Windows…. The windows button is the start menu, deal with it….The scroll sidebar on the right by default was probably the most problematic at first, since the touchscreen controls being used by key/mouse at the outset were a touch wonky, especially if you also have a touchpad/trackpad on your laptop….but a week tops like I said, will iron out the inadvertent screen interferences….. 8 also screams comparatively, maybe 10 will be better, but I have my doubts….the only thing I have trouble installing is the Arduino IDE….I teach a couple of small Ard classes for beginners and its frustrating that your main work computer has to be subverted by an old piece of crap Xp Machine, but 4.9 other than that….really…..8 gets a ton of crap, certainly not as terrible as always presented…8 could be my XP Deux for the next 18 years or so….you never know…. This from a linux user Comment Name * Email *

Δ  Save my name and email and send me emails as new comments are made to this post.

Windows 8 Annoyances that Microsoft Killed in Windows 10 - 82Windows 8 Annoyances that Microsoft Killed in Windows 10 - 26Windows 8 Annoyances that Microsoft Killed in Windows 10 - 55Windows 8 Annoyances that Microsoft Killed in Windows 10 - 48Windows 8 Annoyances that Microsoft Killed in Windows 10 - 35Windows 8 Annoyances that Microsoft Killed in Windows 10 - 11Windows 8 Annoyances that Microsoft Killed in Windows 10 - 9