I thought, hmm, that’s strange. Maybe the setting wasn’t confirmed, or it’s a glitch or something, so I enabled it again. Shutdown, start the machine, there it is again, this picture I took at the beach and my most recent Facebook profile picture on it. Immediately something started adding up. I checked the Lock Screen settings again, nothing related to Facebook but it kept defaulting to photos. I then checked the privacy settings and turned off Facebook in background apps, yet I still kept seeing this picture as my lock screen. The only other culprit could be the Facebook app itself. It seems I might have enabled this setting on an old machine running Windows 8 that Windows 10 appears to have retained as part of its sync settings. The minute I logged into the modern Facebook app, the following is what I was greeted with the following Profile Sync message, even though the setting was already on by default.

Disable Facebook from Lock Screen

To disable it, launch the Facebook app, tap or click the hamburger menu on the title bar, and then click Settings.

When the Setting menu opens, click on Profile Sync.

Then toggle the menu to Off, so you no longer see the Facebook content on your Windows 10 Lock Screen.

If you like the daily images on Bing, check out our guide on how to spruce up the Windows 10 Lock Screen with Bing Images. Or, if you’re on a traditional desktop, you might want just to disable the Lock Screen. Comment Name * Email *

Δ  Save my name and email and send me emails as new comments are made to this post.

Prevent Windows 10 Universal App Taking Over Lock Screen - 68Prevent Windows 10 Universal App Taking Over Lock Screen - 14Prevent Windows 10 Universal App Taking Over Lock Screen - 26Prevent Windows 10 Universal App Taking Over Lock Screen - 73Prevent Windows 10 Universal App Taking Over Lock Screen - 77Prevent Windows 10 Universal App Taking Over Lock Screen - 77